Hilda Lessways (Unabridged)

  • e-artnow

  • Paru le : 21/08/2013
Note moyenne : |
Ce produit n'a pas encore été évalué. Soyez le premier !
Donnez votre avis !
This carefully crafted ebook: "Hilda Lessways (Unabridged)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. The book... > Lire la suite
0,99 €
E-book - Multi-format
Vérifier la compatibilité avec vos supports
Votre note
This carefully crafted ebook: "Hilda Lessways (Unabridged)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. The book is the second book of The Clayhanger Family series by Arnold Bennett, which paralleled Edwin Clayhanger's story from the point of view of his eventual wife, Hilda. It tells the story of her coming of age, her working experiences as a shorthand clerk and keeper of a lodging house in London and Brighton, her relationship with George Cannon that ends in her disastrous bigamous marriage and pregnancy, and finally her reconciliation with Edwin Clayhanger. Arnold Bennett (27 May 1867 - 27 March 1931) was an English writer.
He is best known as a novelist, but he also worked in other fields such as journalism, propaganda and film. In his early life, Bennett was employed by his father but the working relationship failed. Bennett found himself doing jobs such as rent-collecting which were uncongenial. He also resented the low pay; it is no accident that the theme of parental miserliness is important in his novels. In his spare time he was able to do a little journalism, but his breakthrough as a writer came after he had moved from the Potteries.
His most famous works are the  The Clayhanger Family, (the complete trilogy consisting of Clayhanger, Hilda Lessways, and These Twain) and The Old Wives' Tale. These books draw on his experience of life in the Potteries, as did most of his best work. Content: Book I. Her Start in Life 1. An Event in Mr. Skellorn's Life 2. The End of the Scene 3. Mr. Cannon 4. Domesticity Invaded 5.
Mrs. Lessways' Shrewdness 6. Victor Hugo and Isaac Pitman 7. The Editorial Secretary 8. Janet Orgreave 9. In the Street 10. Miss Gailey in Declension 11. Disillusion 12. The Telegram 13. Hilda's World 14. To London Book II. Her Recovery 1. Sin 2. The Little Room 3. Journey to Bleakridge 4. With the Orgreaves 5. Edwin Clayhanger 6. In the Garden 7.
The Next Meeting Book III. Her Burden 1. Hilda Indispensable 2. Sarah's Benefactor 3. At Brighton 4. The Sea Book IV. Her Fall 1. The Going Concern 2. The Unknown Adventure 3. Florrie Again Book V. Her Deliverance 1. Louisa Uncontrolled 2. Some Secret History Book VI. Her Punishment 1. Evening at Bleakridge 2. A Rendezvous 3. At the Works 4. The Call from Brighton 5.
Thursday Afternoon 6. Mischance
  • Date de parution : 21/08/2013
  • Editeur : e-artnow
  • ISBN : 978-80-7484-289-4
  • EAN : 9788074842894
  • Format : Multi-format
  • Caractéristiques du format Mobipocket
    • Protection num. : pas de protection
  • Caractéristiques du format ePub
    • Protection num. : pas de protection
  • Caractéristiques du format Streaming
    • Protection num. : pas de protection

Nos avis clients sur decitre.fr

Avis Trustpilot

Hilda Lessways (Unabridged) est également présent dans les rayons

Arnold Bennett - Hilda Lessways (Unabridged).
Hilda Lessways (Unabridged)
0,99 €
Decitre utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l'utilisation. En savoir plus OK