The modern british novel 1878-2001 (Broché)

  • Penguin Books

  • Paru le : 20/07/2001
Note moyenne : |
Ce produit n'a pas encore été évalué. Soyez le premier !
Donnez votre avis !
Despite frequent reports in the press on the demise of the novel, this witty and stimulating book shows that, at the dawn of a new millennium, it continues... > Lire la suite
13,70 €
Neuf - Expédié sous 3 à 6 jours
  • ou
    Livré chez vous
    entre le 27 septembre et le 28 septembre
Votre note
Despite frequent reports in the press on the demise of the novel, this witty and stimulating book shows that, at the dawn of a new millennium, it continues to flourish. Malcolm Bradbury's study assesses the progress of the British novel from the end of the Victorian Age to the beginning of the twenty-first century, taking in major movements, literary giants and lesser-known authors, and commenting on the future of the book in our digital, postmodern age. This new edition of an essential work is completely revised with additional chapters, bringing it up to date to include contemporary names such as Louis de Bernières, Pat Barker, Nick Hornby and Toby Litt.
Foire aux vins
  • Date de parution : 20/07/2001
  • Editeur : Penguin Books
  • ISBN : 0-14-029695-6
  • EAN : 9780140296952
  • Présentation : Broché
  • Nb. de pages : 621 pages
  • Poids : 0.365 Kg
  • Dimensions : 12,8 cm × 19,8 cm × 2,7 cm

Biographie de Malcolm Bradbury

Malcolm Bradbury was a novelist, critic, television dramatist and Emeritus Professor of American Studies at the University of East Anglia. He was the author of seven novels, including The History Man (1975), winner of the Royal Society of Literature Heinemann Prize, and Rates of Exchange (1983), which was short-listed for the Booker Prize. His other novels include Doctor Criminale (1992) and To the Hermitage (2000). He wrote short-fiction, satires and parodies. Among his many critical works are The Modern British Novel (Penguin, 1994 ; revised edition, 2000) and Dangerous Pilgrimages : Trans-Atlantic Mythologies and the Novel (Penguin, 1996). He also edited The Penguin Book of Modern Short Stories (Penguin, 1988), Modernism (with Professor James McFarlane ; Penguin, 1991) and The Atlas of Literature (1997). For television he wrote two television novels about the European Community, The Gravy Train and The Gravy Train Goes East, and many episodes of A Touch of Frost, Dalziel and Pasoce, Kavanagh Q. C. and Inspector Morse. He also wrote the screenplays of Tom Sharpe's Porterhouse Blue, Kingsley Amis's The Green Man and Stella Gibbons's Cold Comfort Farm, now a feature film. In 1991 he was awarded the CBE and was knighted for services to literature in 2000. Malcolm Bradbury died on 27 November 2000. Among the many tributes paid to him, the Guardian described him as "one of the most prolific and influential novelists, critics and academics of his generation... His death marks the close of half a century of academic and literary history, of which he was par excellence the chronicler."

Nos avis clients sur

Avis Trustpilot

The modern british novel 1878-2001 est également présent dans les rayons

Malcolm Bradbury - .
The modern british novel 1878-2001
13,70 €
Haut de page
Decitre utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l'utilisation. En savoir plus OK

Ne partez pas tout de suite...

Inscription newsletter