When We Danced at the End of the Pier - E-book - ePub

Edition en anglais

Note moyenne 
Brighton 1930: Maureen O'Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again.... Lire la suite
3,51 € E-book - ePub
Vous pouvez lire cet ebook sur les supports de lecture suivants :
Bientôt disponible
Recevez un email dès que l'ouvrage est disponible

Résumé

Brighton 1930: Maureen O'Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again. Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they've seen each other through thick and thin. As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she's always held for Jack burns bright.
But just as she's found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving. When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she's dreamt of? An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days.
Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe, Kitty Neale and Ellie Dean. What readers are saying about When We Danced at the End of the Pier:'A beautiful and emotional read. I don't think I can remember the last time a book moved me to tears so many times whilst reading it. I shed tears of happiness as well as sadness. This is one author who creates characters that will totally capture the readers hearts and I know that them and their story will remain with me for a very long time to come.' By the Letter Book Reviews'What an amazing, sensitively written, emotional, poignant and absolutely wonderful story! The author's writing is exquisite and we are drawn into Maureen's world, feeling for all the characters every step of the way.' Renita D'Silva 'Oh my word I honestly can't remember the last time a book made me feel so emotional.
Well this book made me laugh one minute and bawl my eyes out the next. It was absolutely brilliant. Right from the first page I was glued to it and just didn't want to put it down. Sandy Taylor is one amazing writer and the way she writes and describes the character really pulls you into the story. I can't recommend this book highly enough. It is simply amazing.' Goodreads Review'The story was deeply emotional and moving.All the characters are endearing and touching.
The dramatic scenes are heart-wrenching.The author really managed to write a beautiful tale about family, true love and friendship. If you are a bit of a softie, expect a few tears rolling down your cheeks!' La Biblio De Caro

Caractéristiques

  • Caractéristiques du format ePub
    • Protection num.
      Contenu protégé

Avis libraires et clients

À propos de l'auteur

Biographie de Sandy Taylor

Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton. There were no books in the house, so Sandy's love of the written word was nurtured in the little local library. Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead. This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist.

Du même auteur

Les clients ont également aimé

Derniers produits consultés

When We Danced at the End of the Pier est également présent dans les rayons