The Ascent of Science (Broché)

Brian-L Silver

Note moyenne : | 0 avis
Ce produit n'a pas encore été évalué. Soyez le premier !
  • Oxford University Press

  • Paru le : 06/03/2000
  • 1 million de livres à découvrir
  • Livraison à domicile à partir de 0,01 €
  • Paiement sécurisé, débit à l'expédition
20,70 €
Neuf - Expédié sous 8 à 14 jours
Livré chez vous entre le 16 décembre et le 22 décembre
ou
Votre note
"Like a good tour book, [this volume] takes us to all the principal locations in the realm and shows us not only what's to be found there, but also its history, its effect on history, philosophy, technology, and society, and vignettes about local heroes... Silver bas a real knack for explaining difficult ideas with insight and clarity. He knows how to use an apt metaphor and understands that the metaphor is never enough. And his writing is engaging... [A] comprehensive, balanced, informative, and charming book... For [those] curious to know what science is really all about, this book makes very good one-stop shopping." -The New York Times Book Review "In the tradition of Jacob Bronowski, Stephen Jay Gould, and Carl Sagan, Silver writes with extraordinary grace and sparkling wit-and with a comprehensiveness unparalleled in science writing. His book takes the reader on a guided tour not only of the history of science but of the very nature of scientific inquiry and its role in our society... Throughout the book, it is science as the height of human reason, and reason as the surest guide to knowledge, that enlivens the story of our emergence from ignorance and superstition to the ability to fathom the deepest mysteries of nature. For anyone interested in but intimidated by the scientific enterprise, The Ascent of Science provides an inviting assessment of the discipline. That it does so without diminishing either the complexity or the awe-inspiring power of science is a major accomplishment, one that opens the door to humanity's greatest intellectual adventure and reveals the many ways in which science has altered the way we see the world and ourselves." -Research and Innovation "Silver does more than explain scientific achievements with wit and grace: For him, science is fun. In this spirit, he leads a whirlwind tour through the wondrous worlds of molecular biology, animal evolution, quantum mechanics, and relativity." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Comprehensive, thought-provoking, and very well written... One of the most stimulating overviews of science in recent years." -Kirkus Reviews "Considering the in-depth... character of this overview of the scientific enterprise, the accessibility of Silver's narrative is remarkable." -Booklist
    • Newton Gets It Completely Wrong
    • I Believe
    • Thomas Aquinas versus Neil Armstrong
    • The Second Law
    • Predicting Catastrophe
    • From Newton to De Sade: The Partial Triumph of Reason
    • From Rousseau to Blake: The Revolt against Reason
    • Lodestone, Amber, and Lightning
    • Belief and Action
    • The Demise of Alchemy
    • The Nineteenth Century
    • The Material Trinity: The Atom
    • The Stuff of Existence
    • Scipio's Dream
    • Making Waves
    • The Ubiquity of Motion
    • Energy
    • Entropy: Intimations of Mortality
    • Chaos
    • The Slow Birth of Biology
    • In a Monastery Garden
    • Evolution
    • The Descent of Man
    • The Gene Machine
    • The Lords of Nature? Life: The Molecular Battle
    • The Origin of Life? Take Your Choice
    • The Inexplicable Quantum
    • New Ways of Thinking
    • The Land of Paradox
    • The Elementary Particles
    • Relativity
    • Cosmology
    • The Cosmos and Peeping Tom
    • The Impossibility of Creation
    • The Tree of Death
    • "What the Devil Does It All Mean?"
    • The Future.
  • Date de parution : 06/03/2000
  • Editeur : Oxford University Press
  • ISBN : 0-19-513427-3
  • EAN : 9780195134278
  • Présentation : Broché
  • Nb. de pages : 534 pages
  • Poids : 0.93 Kg
  • Dimensions : 17,8 cm × 25,3 cm × 3,5 cm

Biographie de Brian-L Silver

Brian L. Silver was Professor of Physical Chemistry at the Technion Israel Institute of Technology. He died in 1997, just prior to the publication of this book.

Nos avis clients sur decitre.fr


Avis Trustpilot
Brian-L Silver - .
The Ascent of Science
20,70 €
Haut de page
Decitre utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l'utilisation. En savoir plus OK

Ne partez pas tout de suite...

Inscription newsletter