Pride and Prejudice - Poche

Edition en anglais

Vivien Jones



Tony Tanner


Note moyenne 
Jane Austen - Pride and Prejudice.
When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited, while he struggles to remain indifferent... Lire la suite
12,90 €
Expédié sous 2 à 4 semaines
Livré chez vous entre le 30 avril et le 16 mai
En librairie


When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited, while he struggles to remain indifferent to her good looks and lively mind. When she later discovers that Darcy has involved himself in the troubled relationship between his friend Bingley and her beloved sister Jane, she is determined to dislike him more than ever. In the sparkling comedy of manners that follows, Jane Austen shows the folly of judging by first impressions and superbly evokes the friendships, gossip and snobberies of provincial middle-class life.
This edition includes a new chronology, additional suggestions for further reading, and the original Penguin Classics introduction by Tony Tanner.


  • Date de parution
  • Editeur
  • Collection
  • ISBN
  • EAN
  • Format
  • Présentation
  • Nb. de pages
    435 pages
  • Poids
    0.34 Kg
  • Dimensions
    13,0 cm × 20,0 cm × 2,0 cm

Avis libraires et clients

Avis audio

Écoutez ce qu'en disent nos libraires !

À propos de l'auteur

Jane Austen

Biographie de Jane Austen

Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775 at Steventon, near Basingstoke, the seventh child of the rector of the parish. She lived with her family at Steventon until they moved to Bath when her father retired in 1801. After his death in 1805, she moved around with her mother; in 1809, they settled in Chawton, near Alton, Hampshire. Here she remained, except for a few visits to London, until in May 1817 she moved to Winchester to be near her doctor.
There she died on 18 July 1817. Jane Austen was extremely modest about her own genius, describing her work to her nephew, Edward, as the little bit (two Inches wide) of Ivory, on which I work with so fine a Brush, as produces little effect after much labour. As a girl she wrote stories, including burlesques of popular romances. Her works were published only after much revision, four novels being published in her lifetime.
These are Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815). Two other novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, were published posthumously in 1817 with a biographical notice by her brother, Henry Austen, the first formal announcement of her authorship. Persuasion was written in a race against failing health in 1815-16. She also left two earlier compositions, a short epistolary novel, Lady Susan, and an unfinished novel, The Watsons.
At the time of her death, she was working on a new novel, Sanditon, a fragmentary draft of which survives. Vivien Jones is a Senior Lecturer in English at the University of Leeds. She has published books on Henry James and Jane Austen, and her publications on gender and writing in the eighteenth century include Women in the Eighteenth Century: Constructions Femininity (1990) and Women and Literature in Britain 1700-1800 (2000), as well as numerous articles.
She has edited Frances Burney's Evelina for Oxford World's Classics. Claire Lamont is Textual Adviser for the works of Jane Austen in Penguin Classics. Tony Tanner was a Fellow of King's College, Cambridge, and Professor of English and American Literature at the University of Cambridge. He taught and travelled extensively in America and Europe. Among his many books are The Reign o f Wonder (1965); City o f Words (1970); Contract and Transgression: Adultery and the Novel (1980); Jane Austen (1986); Scenes of Nature, Signs of Men (1987); Venice Desired (1992), Henry James and the Art of Non-Fiction (1995); and The American Mystery (2000).
Tony Tanner died in December 1998.

Du même auteur

Les clients ont également aimé

Derniers produits consultés

12,90 €